The denuclearization. How the process of disarmament, how long and what countries are affected?

Денуклеаризація. Як відбувається процес роззброєння, скільки триває і яких країн це стосується?

The talks between the leaders of the United States and North Korea in Singapore ended with agreements on denuclearization and peace on the Korean Peninsula, writes the Express online.

What is the denuclearization and which countries have experienced this stage in its history?

What is the denuclearization of the

The term “denuclearization” means the reduction or elimination of nuclear weapons, its media and means of delivery as well as the abandonment of production in a certain area. In other words, denuclearization is nuclear disarmament.

World – nuclear disarmament

1 June 1968 the UN General Assembly approved the Treaty on the nonproliferation of nuclear weapons. The aim of this international act – to prevent the expansion of the circle of countries with nuclear weapons, to limit the risk of armed conflict with the use of such weapons, to create opportunities for the peaceful use of nuclear energy.

To the Treaty on the nonproliferation of nuclear weapons was signed by more than 190 countries. Never signed this document, four States-India, Israel, Pakistan, Sudan. Moreover, India and Pakistan have publicly announced its program of developing nuclear weapons, and Israel has long has a policy of deliberate ambiguity regarding its nuclear program.

Which countries refused Nucleare weapons

Ukraine, Belarus and Kazakhstan, on the territory which was part of the nuclear weapons of the Soviet Union, in 1992, signed the Lisbon Protocol (Treaty between the United States and the USSR on the reduction and limitation of strategic offensive arms), and was declared the countries without nuclear weapons. In 1994 — 1996 they handed over all nuclear munitions of the Russian Federation.

A small nuclear Arsenal is small in South Africa, but in the early 1990-ies during the dismantling of the apartheid regime, it destroyed all of its nuclear warheads. Voluntarily renounced its nuclear programmes in Brazil, Argentina and Libya.

How much time can last the process of denuclearization

A good example is Ukraine. In November 1993, the Verkhovna Rada ratified the Treaty, START-1. With this step, Ukraine pledged to reduce the proportion of carriers of nuclear weapons and nuclear warheads – in exchange for billions in compensation and integration into the European
security systems.

14 January 1993, the presidents of Ukraine, USA and Russia signed the so-called Tripartite Declaration, which gave the green light for the immediate removal of all Ukrainian nuclear weapons to Russia. The process ended June 1, 1996.

December 5, 1994 Ukraine, the USA, Russia and UK signed the Budapest Memorandum is an international agreement which was recorded by non-nuclear status of Ukraine.

Who now owns a nuclear Arsenal

To the “Nuclear club” (an unofficial name of a group of countries possessing nuclear weapons), includes the United States, Russia, which received ammunition inherited from the Soviet Union, Britain, France, China, India and Pakistan. Most nuclear weapons in the United States and Russia.

According to the Stockholm international peace research Institute (SIPRI) and the Association for the control of arms (Arms Control Association), in total they owned 93% of the nuclear Arsenal in the world.

Israel never confirms nor denies the assumption of the existence of a nuclear weapon. A subject of controversy and remains the nuclear status of Iran.

Are not members of the nuclear Club, but has on its territory the U.S. nuclear Arsenal five countries-members of NATO: Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Belgium and Turkey.

The DPRK before you go to denuclearization, conducted six nuclear tests, and had a rocket of distant radius of action which can reach the United States.


Share Button